Cristiano Ronaldo celebrates wildly after appearing to give Portugal the lead against Uruguay, only for FIFA to rule the goal to be Bruno Fernandes’… so, did he touch his former Man United team-mate’s cross or not?
- Portugal took the lead against Uruguay in their World Cup group encounter
- Cristiano Ronaldo celebrated scoring his second tournament goal
- But Bruno Fernandes was awarded the strike after his cross ended up in the net
- Ronaldo didn’t appear to get a touch on the ball as he rose highest in the box
Cristiano Ronaldo momentarily thought he had become Portugal’s joint-ever leading World Cup goalscorer alongside national team legend Eusebio after celebrating scoring against Uruguay on Monday.
However, what the Portugese superstar perhaps isn’t aware of is that the goal against Uruguay was awarded to former Manchester United teammate Bruno Fernandes.
There is justifiable confusion over whether the goal should have been awarded to the 37-year-old or if Fernandes should claim the goal after replays questioned who got the final touch.
Cristiano Ronaldo leaps to get his head to Bruno Fernandes’s cross against Uruguay
The ball ends up in the back of the net as Ronaldo (right) watches on against Uruguay
Fernandes’ 64th minute delivery into the box didn’t appear to deviate from its original path as Ronaldo leaped highest inside the Uruguay box to try and get a touch on the ball.
But footage has shown Ronaldo perhaps didn’t get a touch, despite running off to celebrate with his teammates.
Ronaldo emphatically celebrated scoring against Uruguay but his goal was awarded elsewhere
Who got the final touch? Fernandes (left) and Ronaldo (right) celebrate Portugal’s opener
FIFA decided to award the strike to Fernandes, with the Man United midfielder bagging his second goal in stoppage time as Portugal ran out 2-0 victors.
ITV pundits Graeme Souness and Hal Robson-Kanu both weighed in on the debate as they stressed that they didn’t see the legendary striker get a touch on the ball.
‘His reaction suggests he touched it but I’m yet to be shown a camera angle suggesting he does. I can’t see where he touches it, if you slow it down it doesn’t look like he glanced it,’ said Souness.
Ronaldo (middle) leaps highest inside the Uruguay box as Portugal take the lead in Qatar
The debated duo were in good moods after the full-time whistle as Portugal qualified for the last 16
‘In the realms of only he really knows. If he hasn’t touched it that’s pretty good acting.
Robson-Kanu added: ‘What I see here is no space between the ball and his head, I don’t clearly see that and FIFA need to improve their camera quality. That reaction, he thinks he’s touched it.